Our New Year’s Tradition

This is the second year in a row that mom and I have gone to Canton Trade Days on New Year’s weekend.  We have now decided that we will be making it a tradition.

Reasons why this is a great weekend to visit Canton Trade Days (AKA First Monday)           #1 Great sales in all the booths after Christmas                                                                         #2 You don’t have to book your hotel room very far in advance (plenty available)                #3 There are only a few people with strollers/dogs/carts as opposed to the usual      232,878,975,860,983,784,569,687,465,876                                                                                          #4 You don’t have to worry about choosing which New Year’s Eve party you will attend   #5 You get to wear tennis shoes instead of heels on New Year’s Eve                                      #6 When you want a corn dog/funnel cake/turkey leg/fried oreo, you don’t have to wait in line for 30 minutes!                                                                                                                          #7 You can get a first row parking spot                                                                                        #8 You can actually drive down the roads inside the trade days to pick up your items            without running over anyone!                                                                                                        #9 The vendors have time to visit with you and share some of their trade secrets            #10 You start a New Year off SHOPPING and getting BARGAINS!!!

Here are some photos of items we got this weekend. This is not everything I found, I am saving some of my favorites to show you later when I transform them. 

One of the best parts about Canton is the plethora of soup and dip mixes. Mom and I can’t resist all the samples!  This year I bought green fudge, an unbelievable chili mix, tortilla soup mix, and tangy buffalo gourmet popcorn (yes its already open and half empty!)Trade days are good for my soul.  My heart is happy when it is filled with design, decorating, and crafting ideas.  Trade days are also good for my stomach…not so much my jeans though 🙂  The food is “fair like” so you will find corn dogs, funnel cakes, tater twisters, turkey legs, fajitas, fried twinkies, fried oreos, etc.  If you ever attend with me you will find that my indulgence of choice is corn dogs, and I have one in my hand 75% of the time there.  Tonight when I got home I was already reminiscing about the days events so….Of course, this was no comparison to the real thing!

This entry was posted in Decorating, Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Our New Year’s Tradition

  1. Shanna says:

    You are too cute! Love it!!!

  2. Shanna says:

    Ok, here’s another comment: I like corn dogs and mustard, too. Well, corn dogs minus the dog. You know I’m weird. 🙂

  3. Shanna says:

    PS. I agree with your #3 reason why this is a great weekend to visit Canton Trade Days…I love babies and I love old people, but those carts and strollers can slow a girl down!

  4. Jeanie says:

    Love reading your blog! You are so cute and creative! Can’t wait to see what you do with your findings and treasures! Love, love, love Canton!!

Leave a Reply

